Ferns Motel

Image

This story is an oldy but a goody! It takes me back to early in my career. I was 19 and just started my first full time job at Lahey Clinic. This was a great entry level job and paved the way for me to figure out what I wanted to do with my career. The job was in the appointment office and we worked in pods of 4 people. This job was fun and I quickly learned how to conference many of my friends/co-workers all on the same line at the same time.

This is where the story gets good and I am not sure how it really started. We thought how fun would it be to prank call someone. I was 19, why was this not a good idea? So who do we prank call was the question and we talked about hotels on route 1 and wouldn’t it be fun to pull a prank on one of them. So we called a few and really did not get very far with any of them. Mostly people were annoyed with the stupid questions that we would come up with and it was not really much fun.

Finally we stumbled upon The Ferns Motel and if I must say so, we hit the jackpot! I can appreciate someone with a strong accent because my Dad has one. So when we called the Ferns Motel it went like this. First I got the crew all on the same line and made sure everyone was muted and then I called the guy and he asked how could he help me with his strong accent, I am not sure what nationality he was. I of course came up with a fictional family. I told him that my family was having a family reunion and that we were looking for a hotel that could house us. I told him we need space for everyone and that some of us needed private rooms, he told me this was no problem. I asked him if they had fridges in the room and he told me yes, I told him that was perfect. Then I asked him if they had stove tops because this was a family reunion and after all we are a big family and I love to cook for my family. He told me they DO NOT have stove tops, so I said great that will work out great because I love to cook for my family. I told him that I probably need to do a big grocery shopping and that if he and his staff would not mind it would be great if they could help me with my bags. I also told him that if they would like they can come over to our rooms and have a bite to eat. I told him we would probably be at the motel for a week. The nice man in his strong accent said to me again “ma’am we DO NOT have stove tops”. I thanked him again and said great because I love to cook and went through the whole story again and again and he was so frustrated that I could not understand him. We did this over and over again throughout the next few months. We made sure that when we called if we did not get him on the line we did not go through the story we could only talk to him. All these years later and this stories still brings tears of laughter to my eyes. We would laugh uncontrollably for hours about this and it would never get old every time we called. I think the thing that made it so funny was that every time we would call and I would get the crew on the line (on mute) they would be laughing hysterically right next to me and I had a straight face.

Moral of this story is: We all have to work full time jobs, but when you work with your friends and can share some fun times it makes your day go by fast so laugh often, it will keep you young!

Leave a Reply

