Love Conquers Hate……every time! (Joey Macintyre)

I have been thinking about the events that happened on Monday, April 15th. For some time now and have wanted to blog about them. I was not ready to do so until last week. So I would like to share the following blog with everyone.

On Thursday, May 30th, 2013 I attended the Boston Strong Concert. I have to say the concert itself was much more than that!

When the Marathon Bombings happened on Monday, April 15th, 2013 I personally felt a sense of disbelief. I asked myself so many questions. How could I live in a place that this would happen? Why do people want to harm and kill us? I got all sorts of crazy and went from someone who never watched the news to someone who always non stop watched the news (and was even nick named “live stream” )! I did not feel safe in the place that I lived in. I did not know what to do. Do I not go into the city? Was that the answer.

I thought to myself these Tsarnaev brothers must have been taught to hate, you don’t just wake up one day and say I have a great idea let me kill tons of innocent people! It makes me sad that most likely the parents and other influences of the boys taught them to hate and put lots of ideas in their heads.

I felt like I needed a way to heal a place to feel safe. I was so thankful for close friends that were actually part of the police search to catch the people that tried to destroy our city. People in Boston get labeled as not the friendliest people, that we drive like maniacs, and so many other stigmas. But the truth is the term Boston Strong could not be more true! As a city we united, we helped strangers, we cared and cried for people we did not even know.

I am proud to be from Boston. I am honored to have been a part of this amazing concert that Donnie Walhberg put together. I am happy that all of the ticket proceeds and all souvenirs that evening were donated to the One Fund. I will remember this event for the rest of my life not only for the bad that happened but for after the bad came all this love and good from strangers!

Everyone that was affected by this terrible tragedy has so much healing to do. Whether they lost limbs, were burned by metal, loss of hearing  or just escaped a tragic injury we all heal in different ways. I truly hope that in the wake of the events that happened that we continue to love and grow in this city and help the victims and the families heal through these difficult times. We are Boston Strong!

Image

Leave a Reply

