What’s love got to do with it?????

It has been almost a year since my last blog. Friends have asked why and really here are the reasons and they are not good ones.

1. Life got too busy

2. Nothing seemed blog worthy

So I am closing the dry spell on the blog and opening it back up with a subject I never talk about!!!!

love1

Over the past five months I have discovered something that I never thought was missing. My life has always been good and I always have a joke, a good story and can put a positive spin on just about anything. For that reason about 80 percent of the time I am a good time to be around.

This year starting in January I made an agreement with myself (because that seems normal right) I made the deal that I would finally take dating serious and go “outside the box” stop dating the usual suspects that for 37 years did not work out. I kept all this information pretty close to my belt so that if it went horribly wrong I did not have to explain to a million people.

Now of course you know I have some ridiculous story of a really bad dating experience that I will share for if nothing else pure entertainment. So I can protect the innocent we shall call him Mr. Clinger. He seemed really nice and at this point I was tired of dating guys that were playing games so I went out on a date with him. On the first date he asked me for a second date I was busy so I countered with a group date (I already had plans with friends) he accepted. I mean did I see red flags, sure looking back with the whole whoa is me: I got into a car accident, you mentioned your brother was in the car business so I went to go meet him and blah blah blah. After the group date with me and 5 of my friends my antennas were up when he changed his screen saver that was once a cat to a photo of me and him, I was ready to run for the hills. But in true Michelle I feel bad for everyone fashion, why not accept a 3rd date. Leading up to the 3rd date that did not happen clearly (I guess that is where I draw the line). I received many calls, texts, IM’s, and emails. On one particular night I got a call asking “what should our song be” I thought to myself oh he must know I am so funny, so I suggest Britney Spears, Work Bitch he was not thrilled and his reply was I was thinking something by Journey or Aerosmith, ugh this guy was serious. So I brush it off but only until the next call when I clearly have had enough I had a really long day and wanted to not speak on the phone so I text to confirm plans and he calls me and I politely said I am not in the mood to talk and he says not even to me and I reply with not even my mother! So he says text me before you go to bed, I could not I mean really this is where I knew I had to run and change my identity.

Why am I sharing this story……well this is where anyone in their right mind would give up on dating, this should have been the straw that broke the camels back. And technically it kind of did. But then something happened. Just when I gave up I met someone in March and to be honest I treated it like a business transaction very formal with tons of questions that would make anyone run for the hills, but this special man saw beyond my business attitude and knew he could see that beyond this “tough girl” exterior that was a kind person. It’s been over five months and the things that people say to you that you really don’t believe happen like: “it will happen when you least expect it”, “you will just know”, “it will happen fast”, “it should be easy” it was all true.

I got to a point in my life where I was really happy, I mean truly happy being the “fun aunt” and hanging out with my friends and their kids and just having all my time to myself. But then something changed when I met him. I guess there was a piece of my heart that was not entirely complete. I feel lucky and I decided to blog about this because I want friends to know about this for anything in life. We make our own destiny in life and we can for lack of a better term “shit of get off the pot”. So I leaped and it was not so bad, matter of fact it was pretty painless! Sure there are challenges in life but isn’t that what life is all about! So I encourage everyone to find the missing piece it does not have to be love, maybe it’s a career change, a big move, anything just do it. You owe it to yourself to have the best life possible!

The moral of this story is: you know you found true love when you have the flu and your boyfriend comes over and you have mismatched clothes and greasy hair and you are so sick you can’t even blow dry your hair when you get out of the shower and he blows it dry for you and not like its a chore but like it’s exactly where he wanted to be.

Leave a Reply

